of the Deutsche Physikalischen Gesellschaft e. V.

Of solids and philosophers

The largest Spring Meeting of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft [German Physical Society] brings together well over 6,000 physicists from all over the world in Berlin/One day is free of charge for teachers/Press briefing on 12 March 2018

Berlin/Bad Honnef, 23 February 2018 – Well over 6,000 congress-goers are expected to attend this year’s Spring Meeting of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG) Condensed Matter Section (SKM) in Berlin. This makes the congress, being held from 11 to 16 March 2018 and organised jointly with the European Physical Society (EPS) at Berlin Technical University, the largest physics congress in Europe. The programme comprises more than 5,000 expert contributions. The topics range from typical issues of research into physics and recent findings in semiconductor physics, magnetism and surface science to questions of philosophy and socio-economic systems.




Invitation to the press briefing

Monday, 12 March 2018
09:30 to 11:00 hours
TU Berlin [Technical University]
Hauptgebäude [Main building]
Hörsaal [Lecture theatre] H 2036
Straße des 17. Juni 135
10623 Berlin

featuring inter alia:
Prof. Dr. Rolf-Dieter Heuer, President of the DPG
Prof. Dr. Eckehard Schöll, Congress Chair, TUB
Prof. Dr. Martin Aeschlimann, Spokesman of the DPG Condensed Matter Section
Dr. Kees van der Beek, Chair of the Condensed Matter Division (EPS)

The press briefing will focus on the content of the congress and the DPG’s current activities.

The Spring Meetings are a key component of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft’s activities. They are also important platforms for the next generation of scientists, on which they present their research work to a wider specialist audience, often for the first time. In addition, the meetings give young scientists the opportunity to discourse with experienced physicists from science and industry, to establish contacts, and to garner ideas to help plan their profession and career.

Save the dates

  • Evening presentation open to the press (in English)
    Next exit future: Is it them or us?
    Sunday, 11 March 2018, 18:45 hours,
    TU Berlin [Technical University], Hauptgebäude [Main building], Hörsaal [Lecture theatre] H0105
    Ranga Yogeshwar, physicist and science journalist

Public events free of charge

  • EinsteinSlam (entrance free)
    Physics in 10 minutes (for each competition entry)
    Monday, 12 March 2018, 20:00 hours, Urania
  • Evening presentation open to the public (entrance free)
    Collective dynamics in social systems:
    networks, emotions and Big Data

    Wednesday, 14 March 2018, 20:00 hours, Urania
    Prof. Dr. Frank Schweitzer, ETH Zürich

together with the European Physical Society
and EU Commissioner Carlos Moedas

Tuesday, 13 March 2018, 16:00 -18:00 hours

With addresses from the President of Berlin Technical University, Prof. Dr. Christian Thomsen, the EU Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, Carlos Moedas, EPS President, Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Voss, and DPG President, Rolf-Dieter Heuer.

The following prizes will be awarded during the ceremony:

Prof. Dr. Sascha Schäfer from the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg is awarded the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft Walter-Schottky-Preis 2018 for his fundamental contributions to condensed matter physics.

Prof. Dr. Gareth S. Parkinson from Vienna Technical University’s Institute of Applied Physics is awarded the Gaede-Preis 2018 for his excellent contributions in the field of vacuum science and technology.

Professors Lucio Braicovich und Giacomo Claudio Ghiringhelli from the Dipartimento di Fisica der Politecnico di Milano are awarded the European Physical Society Condensed Matter Division’s Europhysics Prize. They are also giving the ceremonial address entitled “Resonant Inelastic X-Ray Scattering”.

In addition, Prof. Dr. Eckehard Schöll from Berlin Technical University’s Institute of Theoretical Physics is being presented with the DPG-Ehrennadel [Badge of Honour] by the President of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft. In this way the DPG is honouring his outstanding commitment to the society’s issues, particularly to organising the Condensed Matter Section’s Spring Meetings.

Selection of scientific presentations
(only for congress-goers and media representatives)

  • What Counts in Public Transportation
    Monday, 12 March 2018, 13:15 hours, HE101
    Jan Sablatnig, Berlin Technical University
    Lunch Talk
  • Let’s twist again – Magnetic Skyrmions
    Thursday, 15 March 2018, 13:15 hours, Audimax
    Dr. Karin Everschor-Sitte, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
    Hertha Sponer prize-winner 2018
  • How photons change the properties of matter
    Friday, 16 March 2018, 8:30 hours, Audimax
    Prof. Dr. Angel Rubio, Max Planck Institute of the Structure and Dynamics of Matter and Hamburg
    Max Born prize-winner 2018

Attendance free of charge for teachers

This year, too, the DPG invites teachers to attend one of the congresses on a day of their choice, free of charge. All it takes is to present written confirmation from the school.

Information for editors:
Journalists are cordially invited to every event after prior accreditation at . Attendance is then free of charge.

The DPG has a limited quota of travel grants available for freelance journalists wishing to attend one of the abovementioned events to report on it. Interested journalists should register by e-mailing:

Press office:
Hauptgebäude [Main building], Raum [Room] 2035 (2nd floor)
TU Berlin, Straße des 17. Juni 135, 10623 Berlin

Press contact:
Gerhard Samulat, Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft e. V.
Tel.: 02224/9232-33
Mobile: 01577/4035823 (during the congress)

Local congress organisation:
Prof. Dr. Eckehard Schöll, Institut für Theoretische Physik, TU Berlin, Tel.: 030-314-23500

⇒ PDF-Version (German)
⇒ PDF-Version (English)
⇒ Anmeldung zum Pressegespräch (German)
⇒ Registration for the press briefing (English)
⇒ For more information on the congress
⇒ Information on all the DPG’s Spring Meetings

Die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft e. V. (DPG), deren Tradition bis in das Jahr 1845 zurückreicht, ist die älteste nationale und mit rund 62.000 Mitgliedern auch größte physikalische Fachgesellschaft der Welt. Als gemeinnütziger Verein verfolgt sie keine wirtschaftlichen Interessen. Die DPG fördert mit Tagungen, Veranstaltungen und Publikationen den Wissenstransfer innerhalb der wissenschaftlichen Gemeinschaft und möchte allen Neugierigen ein Fenster zur Physik öffnen. Besondere Schwerpunkte sind die Förderung des naturwissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses und der Chancengleichheit. Sitz der DPG ist Bad Honnef am Rhein. Hauptstadtrepräsentanz ist das Magnus-Haus Berlin.
Website: www.dpg-physik.de