Young Scientist Award for Socio- and Econophysics (sponsored by CFM)

The Young Scientist Award for Socio- and Econophysics of the German Physical Society (DPG) recognizes outstanding original contributions that use physical methods to develop a better understanding of socio-economic problems. The annually awarded prize is endowed with EUR 7,500 and is intended for young scientists (f/m) below the age of 40 at the time of submission deadline (15. October). The division of socio-economic physics (SOE) is a division of the German Physical Society (DPG) devoted to the "Physics of Socio-Economic Systems". Its aims are to foster research on these topics and to coordinate our activities and those of similar societies across Europe, and to interest young physicists in economic, urban, and social problems. The prize is awarded during the meeting of the Section of condensed matter (SKM) of the DPG.

The price is sponsored by Capital Fund Management (CFM).

In the previous years the YSA has been supported by McKinsey, by d-fine, and by econo:me.

Call for nominations:

The annual deadline for nominations is  15. of October. Submissions can be made via email to including the following information: Name, address, email, birth date or age, webpage, link to scholarly publication profile of the nominee, name, email, webpage of the nominator, and if possible also a short (30-500 words, plain text) laudatio highlighting the main achievements of the nominee. PhD supervisors of the nominee are excluded from the annual selection comittee, but can nominate. Every nominator can nominate one female as well as one male candidate.

Previous Awardees of the YSA:

2024 Viola Priesemann
2022/23 Fariba Karimi
Daschun Wang
2020/21 Roberta Sinatra
Manlio DeDomenico
2019 Andrea Baronchelli
2018 Martin Rosvall
2017 Francisco C. Santos
2016 Mason Porter
2015 Matjaz Perc
2014 Roger Guimera
2013 Vittoria Colizza
2012 Arne Traulsen
2011 Santo Fortunato
2010 Dirk Brockmann
2009 Duncan Watts
2008 Fabrizio Lillo
2007 Katarzyna Sznajd-Weron
2006 Xavier Gabaix
2005 Reuven Cohen
2004 Illes Farkas
2003 Vasiliki Plerou
2002 Damien Challet