Control bodies

Here you will find information on the auditors and ombudsmen of the DPG.


The term of office of the auditors is 4 years. Half of these persons are newly elected every two years by the Annual General Meeting, so that the terms of office of the auditors elected at different times overlap by two years. Re-election is not possible.


Dr. Holger Flemming
Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung
Planckstr. 1
64291 Darmstadt

Dr. Gregor Mussler
Forschungszentrum Jülich
52428 Jülich



The implementing regulations for the Code of Conduct for Members provide that the DPG appoints two ombudspersons who are elected by the Council. Ombudspersons should be available as independent and confidential contact persons for members and third parties. For example, they advise DPG members who wish to report scientific misconduct or who are accused of scientific misconduct. On the basis of the information available to them, ombudspersons can investigate possible allegations and, as representatives of the DPG, also contact third parties. The ombudspersons are obliged to report all individual cases to the executive board. The report may contain a recommendation that the executive board should deal with the exclusion of the society. The Ombudspersons are elected by the Council. The election requires a simple majority of the voting members and the approval of more than a quarter of the voting members. The term of office is three years. It can only be extended twice in direct succession. During their term of office, the ombudspersons may not exercise any other function in a DPG organ or body so that they can make their decisions with a maximum of independence.

Ombudsleute der DPG

Prof. Dr. Hardo Bruhns

Prof. Dr. Maria-Roser Valenti
Institut für Theoretische Physik
Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main
Max-von-Laue-Str. 1
60438 Frankfurt