• 29th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT 29), Sapporo, Japan, 16 - 22 Aug 2020; Chairs: Naoto Nagaosa, The University of Tokyo & RIKEN, and Yoshiteru Maeno, Kyoto University (

  • 28th International Conference on Low Temperature Physics (LT 28), Gothenburg, Sweden, 9 - 16 Aug 2017; Chair: P. Delsing, Co-Chairs: M. Fogelström, J. Bylander, and F. Lombardi (

  • Bad Honnef Physics School "Frontiers of Quantum Matter", 11 – 16 September 2016, Physikzentrum Bad Honnef near Bonn, Germany; organised by Jens H. Bardarson (MPIPKS Dresden), Roderich Moessner (MPIPKS Dresden), Joel Moore (UC Berkeley) (further information)


  • Christian Pfleiderer (TU Munich) has been awarded the 2016 Max Born Prize 2016 "for his important contributions to novel forms of magnetic order, in particular skyrmion grids and their manipulation via electrical currents". The prize will be presented in London in 2016

  • Frank Pollmann (MPI-PKS, Dresden) and Andreas Schnyder (MPI-FKF, Stuttgart) received the Walter-Schottky-Prize 2015 "for the concept of symmetry-protected topological states" and "for the classification of topological insulators and superconductors", respectively. (further information)

  • The 2014 Born medal and prize was awarded to Alexander I. Lichtenstein (Universität Hamburg) "for his outstanding contributions to the theory of magnetism and electronic correlations in real materials". (further information from IOP / DPG)

  • The Simon Prize 2014 has been won by Peter Wölfle (KIT Karlsruhe) "for fundamental contributions to the theory of quantum transport processes in superfluid 3He, heavy fermion superconductors and disordered metals". (further information)

  • The Gentner Kastler Prize 2013 goes to Peter Wölfle, "in recognition of his outstanding contributions to the theory of condensed matter systems, in particular, superfluids and superconductors, disordered electron systems, and transport in nano structures". (further information)

  • Roderich Moessner, Theoretical Solid-State Physics, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, and Achim Rosch, Theoretical Solid-State Physics, University of Cologne, share one of the ten Leibniz Prizes awarded by the German Science Foundation (DFG) in 2013. (further information)

  • Based on the recommendation of the APS Division of Condensed Matter Physics, Ulrich Eckern (Augsburg) and Claudia Felser (Dresden) were elected APS Fellows in November 2012. (further information)

  • The 2012 European Physical Society [EPS] Condensed Matter Division Europhysics Prize will be awarded to Steven Bramwell, Claudio Casternovo, Santiago Grigera, Roderich Moessner, Shivaji Sondhi and Alan Tennant for the prediction and experimental observation of magnetic monopoles in spin ice. The prize will be presented at the forthcoming EPS CMD General Conference in Edinburgh (September 3-7, 2012). (further information)

  • The 2011 Fritz London Memorial Prize is awarded to Humphrey Maris (Brown University), Hans Mooij (TU Delft), and Gerd Schön (KIT). The award is presented in August during the International Conference on Low-Temperature Physics in Beijing, China (LT-26). (further information)