Welt der Physik

The Internet portal Welt der Physik presents current topics from physics research and its environment in a generally understandable form.


"Welt der Physik" is an online magazine published by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research and the German Physical Society. It goes back to the first Science Year in Germany - the "Year of Physics". Since 2003, the editorial team has been reporting on topics relating to physics in an easy-to-understand way on the website, with the aim of generating enthusiasm for this and related disciplines. Thanks to funding from the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, Welt der Physik is free of charge and advertising.

World of Physics Internet portal

What does Welt der Physik offer?

Welt der Physik features a variety of formats: The editorial team regularly publishes news about current research results as well as interviews in which physicists give an insight into their work. The section "Physics behind things" is dedicated to questions of everyday life - such as how an air conditioner works or how far you can look with a telescope.

In addition, a new podcast episode is published every month. In each audio report, the editorial team presents a topic in depth - from A for asteroid to Z for time - and lets a scientist have his or her say. In addition to the website, Welt der Physik is also present on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.


Internet-Portal "Welt der Physik"

Gegründet 2002
Die Internetplattform www.weltderphysik.de wendet sich mit Informationen aus der Physik in allgemein verständlicher Form an die breite Öffentlichkeit.
Anbieter im Sinne des Telemediengesetzes: Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft e. V.
Finanzielle Förderung: Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Presserechtlich Verantwortliche/r

Dr. Timo Ueltzhöffer


Prof. Dr. Claus Lämmerzahl

Eckart Lilienthal

Prof. Dr. Roderich Moessner

Nils Schwab



Prof. Dr. Claus Lämmerzahl

Eckart Lilienthal

Prof. Dr. Roderich Moessner

Nils Schwab


Prof. Dr. Markus Buchgeister

Prof. Dr. Ralf-Jürgen Dettmar

Prof. Dr. Arno Ehresmann

Prof. Dr. Erika Garutti

Sebastian Grote

Dr. Hans Gerd Hegeler-Burkhart

Dr. Michael Helle

Dr. Christoph Hoffmann

Prof. Dr. Nils Huse

Prof. Dr. Claus Lämmerzahl

Prof. Dr. Jochen Liske

Prof. Dr. Volker Springel

Dr. Andrea Thorn

Prof. Dr. Björn Winkler

Vorsitz Kuratorium

Prof. Dr. Markus Buchgeister

Projektleitung und Koordination

Dr. Timo Ueltzhöffer


Projektträger des BMBF am Deutschen Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY)
Notkestraße 85
22607 Hamburg
Fon (040) 8998 3702
Fax (040) 8994 3702