Aktueller e-EPS-Newsletter der European Physical Society (EPS) erschienen

unter anderem mit einem Hinweis auf das DPG Jubiläum und auf das 50. Jubiläum des Helmholtzzentrums für Schwerionenforschung GSI sowie Ausschreibungen des CMD Europhysics Prize und des IBA-Europhysics Prize for Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods in Medicine.

⇒ Hier geht es zum gesamten e-EPS Newsletter (extern)

175 years Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft

On the 14th of January 1845, six young physicists from the ‘Gustav Magnus Kolloquium’ started the Physikalische Gesellschaft zu Berlin. Over the years, this developed into the largest physical society in the world. With over 55 000 members the DPG, the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft now celebrates its 175th anniversary. The DPG will use this anniversary year to elucidate the importance of physics in and for society at large. The kick-off of the festivities took place on January 14th in the Magnus-Haus in Berlin, with many invited high-ranking officials. As a special highlight a unique historical photo (a ‘Daguerreotypie’) of the six founding fathers was unveiled at this occasion. The main celebration will be on June 6th, with several distinguished speakers like the President of the Deutsche Bundestag, Dr. Wolfgang Schäuble, and Nobel Laureate Klaus von Klitzing

50 years GSI, five decades cutting-edge research: anniversary of foundation date

The GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung is celebrating 50 years of existence this year – five decades of research history with outstanding scientific successes and discoveries. During this time, GSI has developed from a national research institute with worldwide collaborations into an international campus with global relevance. Now, it is the 50th anniversary of the founding day of GSI, 17 December 1969.

CMD Europhysics Prize

The EPS CMD Europhysics Prize is one of Europe’s most prestigious prizes in the field of condensed matter physics. It is awarded every 2 years in recognition of recent work by one or more individuals for scientific excellence in the area of condensed matter physics. Deadline for nominations is 30 March 2020

2020 IBA-Europhysics Prize for Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods in Medicine

The board of the European Physical Society (EPS) Nuclear Physics Division calls for nominations for the 2020 IBA-Europhysics Prize. The award will be given to one or several individuals for outstanding contributions to Applied Nuclear Science and Nuclear Methods and Nuclear Researches in Medicine. Deadline for submission of nominations: March 15, 2020.