HYBRID: Higgs spectroscopy of superconductors in non-equilibrium

Berliner Physikalisches Kolloquium

Th, 13.04.2023 18:30  –   Th, 13.04.2023 20:00
Prof. Dr. Dirk Manske, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart
Magnus-Haus Berlin
Am Kupfergraben 7, 10117 Berlin, Germany

Registration required
Event partner:
Magnus-Haus Berlin , Freie Universität Berlin , Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin , Technische Universität Berlin , Universität Potsdam , Wilhelm und Else Heraeus-Stiftung , Physikalische Gesellschaft zu Berlin e. V.
Contact person:
Andreas Böttcher,
DPG Association:
Physikalische Gesellschaft zu Berlin e. V., Regionalverband Berlin/Brandenburg der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft e. V. (PGzB)  
External Link:
Zugangsdaten für die Online-Übertragung


Dieser Vortrag wird in Präsenz im Magnus-Haus gehalten und ist gleichzeitig online zu verfolgen. Nutzen Sie die obigen Links für die Anmeldung Ihrer persönlichen Teilnahme vor Ort bzw. für den Erhalt der Zugangsdaten für die Online-Teilnahme.

zum Inhalt: 

Higgs spectroscopy is a new and emergent field that allows to classify and determine the superconducting order parameter by means of ultra-fast optical spectroscopy. There are two ways to activate the Higgs mode in superconductors, namely a single-cycle 'quench' or an adiabatic, multicycle 'drive' pulse. In the talk I will review and report on the latest progress on both theory and experiments on Higgs spectroscopy, in particular on the role of the third-harmonic-generation (THG) and the possible IR-activation of the Higgs mode by impurities or external dc current. I also provide new predictions for time-resolved ARPES experiments in which, after a quench, a continuum of Higgs mode is observable and a phase information of the superconducting gap function would be possible to extract. Finally, I show that the Higgs mode can maybe solve the 25-years-old A1g-puzzle in equilibrium Raman scattering on high-Tc cuprates.

Moderation: Götz Seibold, BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg 

Eine gemeinsame Veranstaltung der Physikalischen Gesellschaft zu Berlin e.V., der Brandenburgischen Technischen Universität Cottbus-Senftenberg, der Freien Universität Berlin, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Universität Potsdam ‒ gefördert durch die Wilhelm und Else Heraeus-Stiftung