632. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Gauge Field Dynamics with Ultracold Gas Systems

Gauge Field Dynamics with Ultracold Gas Systems

So, 11.12.2016 17:00  –   Do, 15.12.2016 12:00
M. Oberthaler, J. Berges, Universität Heidelberg
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Berges,


632. WE-Heraeus-Seminar:
Gauge Field Dynamics with Ultracold Gas Systems
This seminar is generously funded by the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation and will be held from December 12th to 15th, 2016 at the Physikzentrum Bad Honnef near Bonn and Cologne in Germany. The seminar will explore the physics of gauge theories in atomic physics setups by bringing together experts in the field of theoretical and experimental physics. The workshop will build on intensive discussions in an informal atmosphere. Thus the seminar foresees ample time for discussions but also topical talks setting the stage. These presentations will address aspects such as

Ultracold atomic systems – possibilities and limitations
Gauge field dynamics – from general to the specifics
Explicit proposals for experimental realizations in the context of gauge field dynamics
The seminar will bring together leading experts in the field of atomic physics, quantum optics, condensed matter, and high energy theory (see invited speakers). The conference language will be English. Please note that the total number of participants is limited and the application deadline is November 28, 2016. The organizers invite PhD students, post-docs and senior researchers to apply and to contribute to the poster session. Female researchers are particularly encouraged, since the WE-Heraeus Foundation emphasizes an appropriate participation of women. The seminar of the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation can be found in the Calendar.

Invited Speakers:

Immanuel Bloch
Hans Peter Büchler
Marcello Dalmonte
Eugene Demler
Tilman Enss
Tilman Esslinger
Fabrice Gerbier
Nathan Goldman
Philipp Hauke
Florian Hebenstreit
Fred Jendrzejewski
Tilman Pfau
Jörg Schmiedmayer
Klaus Sengstock
Derek Teaney
Raju Venugopalan
Uwe-Jens Wiese
Erez Zohar
Wilhelm Zwerger