604. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Hybrid Systems for Quantum Optics

Hybrid Systems for Quantum Optics

So, 10.01.2016 17:00  –   Mi, 13.01.2016 12:45
anik Wolters (HU Berlin), Oliver Benson (HU Berlin), Andreas Schell (U Kyoto/J)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Wilhelm und Else Heraeus Stiftung
Janik Wolters,


Goal of the workshop:

There are very first steps towards coherent coupling and entanglement generation between different physical systems. However, a remaining challenge is to master and improve the variety of different setups and theoretical approaches. It is nearly impossible to perform such a task within one research field. In our workshop we will bring together pioneers and experts from integrated, atomic, semiconductor and molecular quantum optics to discuss the challenge of merging their fields within a joint research effort on quantum hybrid systems. A key question that has to be addressed is: How can a quantum hybrid system bring together the better of two worlds (and not the worse)? In order to find a conclusive answer, vast expertise on all fields of quantum optics is indispensible. During the workshop, the presentation of latest results will stimulate discussions and exchange of ideas and methodology between leading scientists in the field. On the other hand, the workshop will introduce neighboring research fields to younger scientists and encourages the intercommunication with established researchers. With this, the workshop will stimulate progress in all fields of quantum optics, and will enhance the awareness of quantum hybrid systems as a new research field.

Apart from the invited speakers being experts in their fields, the workshop is intended to be instructive for newcomers, especially for PhD and master students, young post-docs, and junior scientists. Selected contributed talks will be presented in two “Highlight sessions”. Evening sessions for poster presentation and awarding a poster prize are planned, as well.

Invited Speakers
Preliminary list of invited speakers:

Markus Aspelmeyer*, Technische Universiät Wien, Austria
Mete Atatüre*, Cambridge University, UK
Christoph Becher*, Universität des Saarlandes, Germany
Darrick Chang*, ICFO Barcelona, Spain
Ilja Gerhardt*, Universiät Stuttgart, Germany
Stephan Götzinger*, MPL Erlangen, Germany
Chen-Lung Hung*, Purdue University, USA
Fedor Jelezko, Universität Ulm, Germany
Peter van Loock*, Universität Mainz, Germany
Martin Plenio*, Universität Ulm, Germany
Eugene Polzik*, Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen, Denmark
Arno Rauschenbeutel*, Technische Universiät Wien, Austria
Stephan Reitzenstein*, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
Christine Silberhorn*, Universität Paderborn, Germany
Costanza Toninelli*, LENS Florence, Italy,
Philipp Treutlein*, Universiät Basel, Switzerland
Richard Warburton*, Universität Basel, Switzerland,
Harald Weinfurter*, Ludwig-Maximilian Universität München, Germany
Jörg Wrachtrup*, Universität Stuttgart, Germany

604_Program_final (1).pdf