Cosmic Ray Anisotropies

Mo, 26.01.2015 09:00  –   Fr, 30.01.2015 14:00
Julia Tjus (U Bochum); Paolo Desiati (Wisconsin IceCube Particle Astrophysics Center); Klaus Scherer (U Bochum)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Ruhr-Universität Bochum
Contact person:
Victor Gomer,


The interdisciplinary workshop will give a synoptic overview of the cosmic ray anisotropy observations by the large area telescopes as IceCube, Milagro, the Tibet airshower array among others, and those observed by spacecraft especially by the Voyager and Pamela spacecraft and the AMS instrument, as well as the theory and modeling efforts including that of the large scale heliosphere. The anisotropies in the cosmic ray flux appear from the high energy range (TeV) to low energy range (keV to MeV) that is in the propagation of galactic cosmic rays to the propagation of solar energetic particles as well as that of Jovian electrons. Recent Voyager observations also suggest that the low energy flux at the heliopause is anisotropic.
To describe the anisotropic transport a couple of models are discussed in literature. In the inner heliosphere focussed transport theories are used, which are solved numerically with the help of the equivalent stochastic differential equations. In the heliotail, for the high energy, the gyroradius is of the order of the cylindric diameter of the tail and thus one has to use the full orbit theory.
In addition all the transport models need as input the state of the local plasma enviroment. The latter is provided by large scale magnetohydrodynamic models.
Finallly, the transport of cosmic rays depends on the diffusion tensor, which is affected by the local magnetic field fluctuations and its turbulence. The acceleration or deceleration depends on the local structure of the shock fronts.
The positron anisotropy observed by Pamela spacecraft and the AMS instrument onboard of the ISS are another aspect of anomalies in the cosmic ray spectra, and some aspects shall be discussed with the emphasis on anisotropic distribution functions.

Markus Ahlers
Thorsten Antecki
Peter L. Biermann
Fabian Bos
Mustafa Calgar
Paolo Desiati
Guiseppe di Bernardo
Giuseppe Di Sciascio
Juan Carlos Diaz-Velez
Wolfgang Droege
Carmelo Evoli
Hans Fahr
Katja Ferrier
Horst Fichtner
Vladimir Florinskl
Federico Fraschetti
Priscilla Frisch
Iris Gebauer
Gwenael Giacinti
Hongqing He
Bernd Heber
Alexander Karelin
Ralf Kissmann
Jens Kleimann
Barbara Krebel
Mike Kroll
Simon Kunz
Vanessa López Barquero
Timo Laitinen
Fabian Machate
Karl Mannheim
Hans-Reinhard Müller
Frank McNally
Philipp Mertsch
Merav Opher
Beatrice Panico
Nikolai Pogorelov
Robert Rettig
Klaus Scherer
Reinhard Schlickeiser
Florian Schupan
Nathan Schwadron
Dimitri Semikoz
Günther Sigl
DuToit Strauss
Masato Takita
Robert Tautz
Julia Tjus
David Wittkowski