561. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Massive Neutrinos

Massive Neutrinos

Di, 22.04.2014 09:00  –   Fr, 25.04.2014 15:15
C. Weinheimer (U Münster), K. Blaum (MPI-K Heidelberg), G. Drexlin (KIT Karlsruhe), C. Enss (U Heidelberg), M. Lindner (MPI-K Heidelberg)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Prof. Dr. Christian Weinheimer,


Scientific scope
Experiments with solar, atmospheric, reactor and accelerator neutrinos have made huge progress in measuring precisely the neutrino mixing angles and the two differences of squared neutrino mass eigenstates. However, being a kind of ''interference experiment'' neutrino oscillation experiments can only determine this differences but not the absolute neutrino mass values, which are very important for astrophysics and cosmology as well as for nuclear and particle physics.

The analysis of astrophysical and cosmology data, the search for neutrinoless double beta decay as well as the so-called direct neutrino mass measurements by investigating the endpoint region of beta decays or electron capture reactions allow an access to the neutrino masses. Currently there is huge progress in this field, e.g. by the new results of the GERDA, EXO-200 and KamLAND-Zen double beta decay experiments, by the direct neutrino mass experiment KATRIN under construction and commissioning and by the starting electron capture experiments ECHO and HOLMES. From the cosmological and astrophysics side the new PLANCK data give unprecedented information of the fluctuation in the early universe. Recently there are interesting hints from experiments as well as from cosmology that three neutrinos might not be the complete picture, one or more sterile neutrinos may play a role in neutrino oscillations and may contribute to the dark matter of the universe.

At this Heraeus-Seminar we want to discuss the most recent progress in this field bringing together theorists, experimentalists and astrophysicists. We will also have an outlook on new ideas in the field for future experiments and theoretical developments. In addition to a reach program of invited talks by renowned colleagues two poster sessions together with mini presentation sessions will allow all participants to present their work.

Invited speakers:
Prof. Dr. Evgeny Akhmedov, Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Heidelberg
Dr. Christian Buck, Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Heidelberg
Dr. Werner Rodejohann, Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Heidelberg
Dr. Beate Bornschein, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Dr. Sergey Eliseev, Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Heidelberg
Dr. Tommi Eronen, University of Jyväskylä, Finland
Prof. Dr. Joseph Formaggio, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Amand Fäßler, University of Tübingen
Prof. Dr. Dieter Frekers, University of Münster
Dr. Loredana Gastalto, University of Heidelberg
Prof. Flavio Gatti, University and I.N.F.N. of Genoa, Italy
Dr. Ferenc Glück, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Prof. Dr. Peter Grabmayr, University of Tübingen
Prof. Dr. Giorgio Gratta, Stanford University, USA
Dr. Volker Hannen, University of Münster
Prof. Dr. Steen Hannestad, Aarhus University, Denmark
Prof. HongJoo Kim, KyungPook National University, Korea
Dr. Susanne Mertens, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA
Dr. Angelo Nucciotti, University of Milano-Bicocca, USA
Prof. Dr. Lothar Oberauer, Technical University Munich
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Ernst Otten, University of Mainz
Prof. Dr. Achim Schwenk, Technical University Darmstadt
Dr. Kathrin Valerius, Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg
Prof. Dr. Hector J. de Vega, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris VI) et Denis Diderot (Paris VII), France
Dr. Nancy Wandkowsky, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Prof. Dr. John F. Wilkerson, University of North Carolina, USA
Prof. Dr. Kai Zuber, Technical University Dresden