Attosecond Physics

DPG - Physics School

Su, 20.05.2007 17:00  –   Fr, 25.05.2007 14:00
Markus Drescher, University of Hamburg & Manfred Lein, University of Kassel
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Contact person:
Victor Gomer,


DPG Physics School 2007
supported by the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus - Foundation

20 to 25 May 2007, Physikzentrum Bad Honnef, Germany
Attosecond Physics

Markus Drescher, University of Hamburg & Manfred Lein, University of Kassel

The art of directly measuring the temporal evolution of electronic processes on the electron's 'natural' - attosecond - time scale has rapidly developed during the last few years. Not only does attosecond physics enter a yet unexplored territory (1 as = 10-18 s), but its novel methods and techniques utilize rather unconventional interactions between light and matter like electron tunneling, streaking or rescattering. Understanding attosecond physics requires learning about techniques and phenomena, that are usually not (yet) mediated in university physics education.
It is the intention of this summer school to assemble a curriculum of tutorial lectures, where distinguished scientists representing different aspects of the field mediate key knowledge in attosecond science. The school aims at providing a comprehensive overview of the subject ranging from the necessary theoretical background over the latest technological developments to the most recent scientific applications.

Lecturers / Topics:

Andrius Baltuska, Vienna University of Technology
fs - laser concepts: CPA, OPCPA

Wilhelm Becker, Max-Born-Institute, Berlin
Theory of single-cycle physics

Joachim Burgdörfer, Vienna University of Technology
Theory of time-resolved atomic physics

Dimitris Charalambidis, Foundation for Research and Technology, Heraklion
Nonlinear attosecond X-ray physics

Mette Gaarde, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Theory of High Harmonic Generation

Shaukat Khan, University of Hamburg
Attosecond pulses from free-electron-lasers

Ferenc Krausz, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching
Atomic physics with attosecond pulses

Chii-Dong Lin, Kansas State University
Theory of light-enforced rescattering

Jon Marangos, Imperial College London
Attosecond pulses from Raman processes

Pascal Salières, DRECAM, Saclay
Attosecond pulses from High Harmonic Generation

Giuseppe Sansone, Politechnico di Milano, Milan
Formation of few-cycle light pulses

George Tsakiris, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching
Attosecond pulses from surfaces

Thomas Udem, Max-Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching
Frequency-comb technique for CEP-stabilization

David Villeneuve, National Research Council of Canada, Ottawa
Molecular Tomography

Ian Walmsley, University of Oxford
Temporal characterization of attosecond pulses