624. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Simulating Quantum Rrocesses and Devices

Simulating Quantum Rrocesses and Devices

Mo, 19.09.2016 09:00  –   Th, 22.09.2016 18:30
Joachim Ankerhold, S. Montanegro, J. Stockburger, Universität Ulm
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation
Contact person:
Prof. Dr. Joachim Ankerhold,


Scientific background
Across communities as diverse as quantum optics / quantum information, solid-state physics, statistical physics and chemical physics, to name few, a wealth of novel numerical techniques for quantum dynamics have arisen in recent years. Each discipline has developed tools to tackle formidable problems arising from the propagation of complex interacting systems, among which we focus on

Quantum Monte Carlo
Stochastic equivalents of open quantum systems
Tensor Network Methods
Numerical Renormalization Group / Density Matrix Renormalization Group
Time-dependent multiconfiguration wave function methods
Non-equilibrium Greens functions / transport
Semiclassical Methods
The contact between these different activities has been somewhat loose and informal so far: With this seminar we aim to stimulate interaction between communities, foster the interrelations and potential synergies between the different approaches, and to establish and strengthen contact and collaboration between the participants.

Invited speakers:

Andreas Alvermann (Greifswald)
Frithjof Anders (Dortmund)
Mari Carmen Banuls (MPI Garching)
Ralf Bulla (Köln)
Jianshu Cao (MIT)
Andrew Daley (Strathclyde)
Jan von Delft (LMU München)
Rosario Fazio (Trieste)
Milena Grifoni (Regensburg)
Frank Grossmann (Dresden)
Karyn Le Hur (CPHT, Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau)
Fabian Pauly (Konstanz)
Heiko Rieger (U Saarland)
Anders Sandvik (Boston U)
Peter Schmelcher (Hamburg)
Jiu-Shu Shao (Bejing)
Sandro Sorella (Trieste)
Alexej Streltsov (Heidelberg)
Walter Strunz (Dresden)
Yoshitaka Tanimura (Kyoto)
Michael Thorwart (Hamburg)
Michael Thoss (U Erlangen-Nürnberg)

09.00 Saro Fazio
09:50 Milena Grifoni
10:30 coffee
11:00 Michael Thorwart
11:40 Javier Cerrillo
12:00 Henning Hammar
12:20 lunch
14:20 Andrew Daley
15:10 Pietro Silvi
15:30 coffee
16:00 Mari Carmen Banuls
16:40 Yoshitaka Tanimura
18:30 dinner

09:00 Michael Thoss
09:50 Peter Schmelcher
10:30 coffee
11:00 Alexej Streltsov
11:40 Julia Volmer
12:20 lunch
14:20 Fabian Pauly
15:10 Nicandro Bovenzi
15:30 coffee
16:00 Frank Grossmann
16:40 Stefan Jorda (WE Heraeus Foundation)
18:30 dinner
20:00 Poster Session

09:00 Ralf Bulla
09:50 Frithjof Anders
10:30 coffee
11:00 Jan von Delft
11:40 S.-S. B. Lee
12:00 Samu Suomela
12:20 lunch
14:30 Jianshu Cao
15:10 Michael Wiedmann
15:30 Karyn Le Hur
16:10 coffee
16:40 Walter Strunz
17:20 Jiu-Shu Shao
18:30 Herae