558. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: The Strong Gravity Regime of Black Holes and Neutron Stars

The Strong Gravity Regime of Black Holes and Neutron Stars

Su, 30.03.2014 17:00  –   Fr, 04.04.2014 18:00
Eva Hackmann (U Bremen), N. Wex (MPIfR Bonn), H. Falcke (U Nijmegen/NL)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Contact person:
Dr. Eva Hackmann,


The 558th WE-Heraeus-Seminar on The Strong Gravity Regime of Black holes and Neutron stars is kindly funded by the Wilhelm und Else Heraeus Foundation. It will be held from March 31st to April 4th, 2014 at the Physikzentrum of the German Physical Society in Bad Honnef near Bonn and Cologne, Germany.

The main theme of this seminar is the observation and theoretical description of systems where gravity is strong and non-linear, in particular systems containing black holes and neutron stars which are ideal gravitational laboratories. To cover the complete complexity of this field of research, experts and graduate students from the observational and theoretical community are invited to bring together their expertise.

As a rough guideline, we have the following categories:

Strong-field gravity in GR and its alternatives
Black holes as strong field probes
Neutron stars as strong field probes
Gravitational wave observations and merger events
The program consists of invited as well as contributed talks and posters. We particularly encourage female scientist to contribute to the seminar. For young scientists we award the best poster with a price.

Invited Speakers
Berti, Emanuele (The University of Mississippi)
Barausse, Enrico (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris)
Broderick, Avery (Perimeter Institute)
Brügmann, Bernd (University of Jena)
Cardoso, Vitor (Instituto Superior Técnico)
Champion, David (Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy)
Damour, Thibault (Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques)
Esposito-Farèse, Gilles (Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris)
Fabian, Andrew (Cambridge University) - to be confirmed
Freire, Paulo (Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy)
Gammie, Charles (University of Illinois)
Genzel, Reinhard (Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics)
Körding, Elmar (Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen)
Kokkotas, Kostas (University of Tübingen)
Kramer, Michael (Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy)
Kunz, Jutta (University of Oldenburg)
Meinel, Reinhard (University of Jena)
Narayan, Ramesh (Harvard University)
Psaltis, Dimitrios (University of Arizona)
Pützfeld, Dirk (University of Bremen)
Rezzolla, Luciano (Albert Einstein Institute)
Schäfer, Gerhard (University of Jena)
Schutz, Bernard (Albert Einstein Institute)
van der Klis, Michiel (University of Amsterdam)
© ZARM 2013