553. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Discrete and Analogue Quantum Simulators

Discrete and Analogue Quantum Simulators

Mo, 10.02.2014 08:40  –   We, 12.02.2014 14:00
D. Meschede (U Bonn), A. Alberti (U Bonn), R. Werner (U Hannover)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Contact person:
Dr. Andrea Alberti,


The idea of the workshop

We intend to bring together leading scientists working in the field of quantum simulation, who make use of either analogue or discrete simulation methods. Analogue simulators find natural applications in the investigation of quantum systems ruled by continuous time Hamiltonians. On the other hand, it was theoretically shown that quantum simulators based on discrete time operations can also provide an excellent approximation for continuous time systems. In recent years, both analogue and discrete simulation methods have been receiving significant attention from theory to develop new strategies and algorithms, while experimental advances with atoms, ions, and photons allow for the investigation of nontrivial problems, which are otherwise intractable using classical computers.

Dr. Andrea Alberti
Prof. Dr. Dieter Meschede
Prof. Dr. Reinhard Werner

The list of speakers is divided into four main areas:

Discrete quantum simulations, theory

Pablo Arrighi, Université de Grenoble
Fernando Brandão, UCL London
Mark Rudner, Niels Bohr Institute
Discrete quantum simulations, experiment

Rainer Blatt, Universität Innsbruck
Fabio Sciarrino, Università Sapienza, Roma
Andrew White, University of Queensland

Analogue quantum simulations, theory

Jens Eisert, Freie Universität Berlin
Christina Kraus, Institut für Theoretische Physik, Universität Innsbruck
Tobias Osborne, Universität Hannover
Barbara Terhal, Universität Aachen

Analogue quantum simulations, experiment

Rudolf Gross, Technical University of Munich (evening talk)
Stefan Kuhr, University of Strathclyde
Yoav Lahini, MIT
Philipp Preiss, Harvard University
Klaus Sengstock, Universität Hamburg
Carlo Sias, LENS, Università di Firenze
Alexander Szameit, Abbe Center of Photonics, Universität Jena
Martin W. Zwierlein, MIT