505. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: New Routes to Single-Phase Multiferroics

New Routes to Single-Phase Multiferroics

Su, 22.04.2012 17:00  –   We, 25.04.2012 15:00
M. Angst (FZ Jülich), J. Voigt (FZ Jülich), J. Hemberger (U Köln), J. Stempfer (DESY Hamburg)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Contact person:
Prof. Dr. Manuel Angst,


Multiferroic materials challenge our fundamental understanding of magnetic and ferroelectric order. The related properties, including the magnetoelectric coupling, make them promising for future applications in information technology. A strong magnetoelectric coupling is incompatible with traditional mechanisms of ferroelectricity, and so far no multiferroic material fulfilling all technological requirements has been found. To overcome these difficulties, new routes need to be treaded in materials research. In consideration of this, active scientists in the field will be brought together in the 505th WE-Heraeus seminar, in order to discuss the search for new materials and mechanisms, and their better understanding. The latter requires the development of new experimental and theoretical methods, which will also be a subject of the seminar. Younger colleagues will profit particularly from the exchange with experienced researchers in the field.

Scientific Organizers

Prof. Dr. Manuel Angst Peter Grünberg Institut, Helmholtz-Hochschul-Nachwuchsgruppe
„Complex Ordering Phenomena in Multifunctional Oxides“,
Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, D-52425 Jülich
Dr. Jörg Voigt Jülich Centre for Neutron Science,
Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, D-52425 Jülich
PD Dr. Joachim Hemberger Physikalisches Institut II, Universität zu Köln, D-50937 Köln
Dr. Jörg Strempfer Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron, D-22607 Hamburg

The list of confirmed invited speakers:

T. Kimura, Osaka Univ (Opening lecture)

D. Khomskii, Univ. Köln

M. V. Mostovoy, Univ. Groningen

J. van den Brink, IFW Dresden

M. Braden, Univ. Köln

P. Hatton, Durham Univ.

M. Kenzelmann, PSI Villigen

S. Ishiwata, Univ. Tokyo

A. Loidl, Augsburg Univ.

M. Fiebig, Univ. Bonn

U. Staub, PSI Villigen

J. Hamann-Borrero, IFW Dresden

E. Schierle, HZ Berlin

N. Spaldin, ETH Zürich

D. Prabhakaran, Oxford Univ.

A. Stroppa, CNR-SPIN L’Aquila

K. Dörr, IFW Dresden

A. Shuvaev, TU Wien

H. Walker, ESRF

M. Viret, CEA Saclay

P. Becker, Univ. Köln

M.Bibes, CNRS-Thales

J.de Groot, FZ Juelich