501. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Nuclear Ground-State Properties of the Lightest Nuclei: Status and Prospectives

Nuclear Ground-State Properties of the Lightest Nuclei: Status and Prospectives

Su, 18.03.2012 17:00  –   We, 21.03.2012 17:30
W. Nörtershäuser (U Mainz), T. Neff (GSI Darmstadt)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Contact person:
Wilfried Nörtershäuser,


Scientific Scope

In recent years there was considerable progress in the determination of ground state properties of the lightest nuclei, from hydrogen to beryllium, using atomic physics techniques. This is owed to the development of new trapping, cooling and laser spectroscopic techniques that allow combining extreme sensitivity with the high accuracy required to extract nuclear parameters from the observables as well as considerable improvements in the theoretical description of single- and few-electron systems. Some of the recent highlights are the determination of the proton charge radius from muonic atom spectroscopy, as well as laser spectroscopy and mass spectrometry of halo nuclei. At the limits of particle stability, halo nuclei exhibit a particular intriguing nuclear structure composed of a long tail of dilute nuclear matter around a compact core nucleus. Moreover, these few-nucleon systems are an ideal testing ground for ab-initio nuclear structure calculations that were developed in the last two decades.

This WE-Heraeus-Seminar is intended to bring together experts in the field of precision experiments for the determination of the ground state structure of the lightest nuclei and in the underlying atomic structure and nuclear structure theories in order to discuss the current status and new frontiers of research. Finally, new approaches and modern experiments will be addressed such as g-factor measurements on protons and antiprotons and further experiments on muonic spectroscopy.

Invited Speakers

S. Bacca, TRIUMF, Canada
M. Brodeur, TRIUMF, Canada
M. Distler, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Germany
G.W.F. Drake, University of Windsor, Canada
H. Feldmeier, GSI Helmholtzzentrum Darmstadt, Germay
C. Forssen, Chalmers, Sweden
Ch. Geppert, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz and GSI Darmstadt, Germany
P. Indelicato, Universite Paris, France
B. Jonson, Chalmers, Sweden
U.-G. Meißner, Universität Bonn, Germany
P. Müller, Argonne National Lab, USA
T. Myo, Osaka Institute of Technology, Japan
R. Neugart, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Germany
K. Pachucki, Warzaw University, Poland
R. Pohl, MPQ München, Germany
R. Roth, TU Darmstadt, Germany
R. Sanchez, GSI Helmholtzzentrum Darmstadt, Germany
I. Sick, Universität Basel, Schweiz
Y. Suzuki, Niigata University, Japan
I. Tanihata, RCNP, Osaka University, Japan
T. Udem, MPQ München, Germany
M. Wada, RIKEN, Japan
J. Walz, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Germany
R. Wiringa, Argonne National Lab, USA
H. Wittig, Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, Germany
Z.-C. Yan, University of New Brunswick, Canada