652. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Ab Initio Solid State Physics in the 21st Century

Ab Initio Solid State Physics in the 21st Century

Mo, 30.10.2017 00:00  –   Fr, 03.11.2017 00:00
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Contact person:
Prof. Dr. Roser Valentí,


Ab initio electronic structure methods based on the Landau-Fermi liquid theory and Kohn-Sham density functional theory have played an increasingly important role in unveiling the microscopic nature of fundamental properties in solid state physics. Some of the most exciting new physical phenomena discovered in the 21st century, such as unconventional superconductivity in Fe pnictides and chalcogenides, topological insulators, spin-orbit driven excitations (iridates, RuCl3) or room-temperature superconductivity in hydrides under high pressure, have been elucidated or even predicted by first-principles calculations. The rapid development of computer power and the combination of ab initio-based methods with other state-of-the-art techniques including many-body methods, optimization theory, or machine learning algorithms have contributed to some of these discoveries.

The aim of the workshop is to present the most recent developments and the open challenges in ab initio electronic structure theory with a particular focus on methods that can guide or drive new material discovery and selected applications.

List of Invited Speakers:

Senior Speakers:

Markus Aichhorn TU Graz, Austria
Ali Alavi MPI Stuttgart, Germany
Jim Allen University of Michigan, USA
Ole K. Andersen MPI Stuttgart, Germany
Vladimir Antropov Ames Lab, USA
Ferdi Ariasetawan Lund University, Sweden
Ryotaro Arita RIKEN, Japan
Silke Biermann École Polytechnique Paris, France
Indra Dasgupta IACS Kolkata, India
Olle Eriksson Uppsala University, Sweden
Claudia Felser MPI Dresden, Germany
Antoine Georges École Polytechnique Paris, France
Maurits Haverkort Heidelberg University, Germany
Volker Heine Cavendish Lab, Cambridge, UK
Michelle Johannes NRL Washington, USA
Bernhard Keimer MPI Stuttgart, Germany
Josef Kudrnovsky / Vaclav Drchal Academy of Science of the Czech Republic, Prague, Czech Republic
Alexander Liechtenstein Hamburg University, Germany
Michele Parrinello ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Eva Pavarini Jülich-Aachen University, Germany
Sashi Satpathy University of Missouri, USA
Sergey Savrasov UC Davis, USA
George Sawatzky UBC Vancouver, Canada
Mark van Schilfgaarde King's College London, UK
Alessandro Toschi TU Vienna, Austria
Alexander Yaresko MPI Stuttgart, Germany
Eva Zurek University of Buffalo, USA

Junior Speakers:

Michaela Altmeyer University of Frankfurt, Germany
Christoph Heil Dep. of Materials, University Oxford, UK
Ion Errea Donostia International Physics Center, San Sebastian, Spain
Jose A. Flores-Llivas University of Basel, Switzerland
Philipp Hansmann MPI Stuttgart, Germany
Geoffroy Hautier UC Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
James Glasbrenner George Mason University, USA
Stephen Winter University of Frankfurt, Germany