Physik Journal

The Physik Journal is the member journal of the German Physical Society (DPG). With a circulation of more than 60,000 printed copies, it is the most important physics journal in the German-speaking world.

Eleven issues of Physik Journal are published annually. DPG members receive these without further costs. The Physik Journal provides information about the activities of the DPG, current topics of physics research and everything worth knowing about physics. DPG members can also access the complete online archive. The Physik Journal is not available in stores. However, non-DPG members have electronic access to selected articles. The predecessor of the Physik Journal was the Physikalische Blätter (1944-2001). The electronic archive of the Physikalische Blätter (1944-2001) is freely accessible.

Website of the Physik Journal (external link)
Note: Only DPG members have full access to all issues and online content of Physik Journal. Therefore you first have to register as a user on the website of Physik Journal ( and verify your DPG membership number. For the verification you need the data on your membership card. All articles of Physik Journal older than three years are available free of charge and freely accessible.

Online archive of the Physik Journal (since 2002) (external link)
Online archive of the Physikalische Blätter (1944-2001) (external link)


The DPG has commissioned the publisher Wiley VCH to edit the Physik Journal. The DPG has no direct influence on the editorial work, but appoints the editors and the board of trustees of the Physik Journal.


If you would like to contact the editorial office of Physik Journal, please send your request:



Prof. Dr. Matthias Bartelmann

Sven Ederer

Prof. Dr. Karin Jacobs

Prof. Dr. Dieter Weiss


Prof. Dr. Anna Boehmer

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Gerland

Prof. Dr. Stephanie Hansmann-Menzemer

Prof. Dr. Antonia Kesel

Prof. Dr. Jochen Kuhn

Dr. Corinna Maaß

Dr. Wolfgang Maier

Dr. Michael Mößle

Prof. Dr. Walter Neu

Prof. Dr. Achim Schwenk

Dr. Thomas Schwetz-Mangold

J.Prof. Dr. Isabelle Staude

Prof. Dr. Friedrich Steinle

Prof. Dr. Christoph Tegenkamp

Prof. Dr. Ronny Thomale

Dr. Anna von der Heydt

Prof. Dr. Matthias Weidemüller

Redaktion des Physik Journal (Chefredakteurin)

Dr. Maike Pfalz
Physik Journal
Boschstr. 12
69469 Weinheim

Weitere Redaktionsmitglieder

Dipl.-Phys. Alexander Pawlak

Dr. Kerstin Sonnabend


Wiley-VCH Verlag GmbH