560. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Taking Detection to the Limit: Biosensing with Optical Microcavities

Taking Detection to the Limit: Biosensing with Optical Microcavities

Mo, 14.04.2014 08:00  –   Fr, 18.04.2014 14:00
H. Schwefel (U Erlangen-Nürnberg), F. Vollmer (MPIL, Erlangen)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Frank Vollmer,



Biosensing with high Q microcavities is emerging as one of the most sensitive approaches for detecting biomolecules on chip-scale devices without the need for labels. This seminar will bring together researchers from various areas that use whispering gallery mode resonators for molecular diagnostics, single molecule analysis, nanoparticle detection and -manipulation. With particular focus on students and newcomers to the field, the seminar will review the various sensing mechanisms and devices, as well as survey the most recent developments such as self-referenced measurements, plasmon enhancements, optical forces for nanoparticle manipulation and the design of active devices. Furthermore, the seminar will define the molecular challenges in label-free biosensing and provide an outlook on the exciting capabilities of functionalized high-Q microcavities in the life sciences. This event will be an excellent networking platform to stimulate various interdisciplinary and international collaborations. The seminar is kindly supported by the Wilhem and Else Heraeus Foundation.

List of invited speakers:

Stephen Arnold, Poly NYU, USA
Ryan Bailey, UIUC, USA
Oliver Benson, HU Berlin, Germany
Peter Bienstmann, Ghent University, Belgium
Paola Borri, Cardiff, UK
Warwick Bowen, University of Queensland, Australia
Gilberto Brambilla, Southampton, UK
Tal Carmon, University of Michigan, USA
Ken Crozier, Harvard, USA
Barak Dayan, Weizmann Institute, Israel
Camille Delezoide, ENS Cachan, France
Petra Dittrich, ETH, Switzerland
Sherman Fan, University of Michigan, USA
Gianluca Gagliardi, Naples, Italy
Tijmen Euser, Max Planck Institute, Germany
Michael Himmelhaus, NanoBioAnalytics, Berlin, Germany
Heinz Kalt, Karlsruhe Institute for Technology, Germany
Peter Loock, Queen's University, Canada
Tao Lu, University of Victoria, Canada
Sile Nic Chormaic, OIST, Japan
Oskar Painter, Max Planck Institute, Germany
Qimin Quan, Rowland Institute/Harvard University, USA
Arno Rauschenbeutel, Atominstitut Vienna, Austria
Vahid Sandoghdar, Max Planck Institute, Germany
Oliver Schmidt, IFW Dresden, Germany
Jan Wiersig, University of Magdeburg, Germany
Kerry Wilson, Imperial College London, UK
Yunfeng Xiao, Peking University, China
Lan Yang, University of Washington St. Louis, USA
Peter Zijlstra, TU Eindhoven, Netherlands