Marian Smoluchowski - Emil Warburg Physik Preis

Der Marian-Smoluchowski-Emil-Warburg-Preis wird für herausragende Beiträge in der reinen oder angewandten Physik gemeinsam von der Polnischen Physikalischen Gesellschaft und der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft in Erinnerung an das Wirken von Marian Smoluchowski in Polen und Emil Warburg in Deutschland verliehen. Der Preis wurde mit Hilfe der Meyer-Viol-Stiftung eingerichtet. Er wird in zweijährigem Rhythmus abwechselnd einem Physiker / einer Physikerin mit Lebens- und Tätigkeitsmittelpunkt in Deutschland bzw. Polen zuerkannt. Die Auszeichnung besteht aus einem Preisgeld von 3.000 Euro, einer silbernen Medaille mit den Porträts Marian von Smoluchowskis und Emil Warburgs und einer Urkunde.

⇒ Preisträgerinnen und Preisträger des Marian-Smoluchowski-Emil-Warburg-Preises

Statute of the Polish-German Marian Smoluchowski - Emil Warburg Physics Prize


Polskie Towarzystwo Fizyczne (PTF) und Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (DPG)

1. The terms of the award should be "to be presented for outstanding contributions to pure or applied physics". The award is to be made to physicists alternately every two years whose centre of living and work is in Germany or Poland.

2. The selection of the prize-winner is as follows: Not later than six months before the date of presentation the Council of the nominating Society submits two or three (but not more) names, plus citations, to the Council of the other, selecting and hosting Society, which makes the final choice. The nominations are not to be restricted to members of either Society although candidates must be persons living and working in the country of the nominating Society.

3. The presentation of the award will normally take place alternately (a) at the annual spring meeting of the DPG to the prize-winner from Poland and (b) at the general meeting of the PTF to the prize-winner from Germany.

4. The medal is of silver and about 6 cm in diameter and 0,5 cm thick. It carries profiles, names and dates of Marian Smoluchowski and Emil Warburg and the full names of the PTF and the DPG. The recipient's full name and the year of the award are engraved around the rim. The medal and its costs are the responsibility of the DPG.

5. The certificate is about 30 x 25 cm2 in size. The wording is to be agreed by both societies. It has to be written in the language of the nominating Society (Polish or German) and is the responsibility of the PTF. The reverse side of the certificate can include the wording in the language of the selecting society.

6. The prize money, which is 3.000 Euro, is to be given by the Meyer-Viol Foundation.

7. The nominating society is responsible for travel and lodging of its prize-winner and spouse plus its representative(s) who participate in the ceremony of the host Society.

8. Each Society has the right to terminate the common prize by the end of the year following its announcement. Accepted by PTF on 10 September 2007 and by DPG-Vorstandsrat on 10 November 2007.



Vorsitzende/r des Preiskomitees

(gemeinsames Preiskomitee mit Max-Born-Preis und -Medaille und Gentner-Kastler-Preis und -Medaille)

Mitglieder des Preiskomitees

Prof. Dr. Michael Block
Helmholtz-Institut Mainz
Staudingerweg 18
55099 Mainz

(gemeinsames Preiskomitee mit Max-Born-Preis und -Medaille und Gentner-Kastler-Preis und -Medaille)