515. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Algebro-Geometric Methods in Fundamental Physics

Algebro-Geometric Methods in Fundamental Physics

Mo, 03.09.2012 08:20  –   Fr, 07.09.2012 16:40
C. Lämmerzahl (U Bremen), Jutta Kunz (U Oldenburg), V. Enolskii (HW Delmenhorst)
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Victor Enolskii,


eading experts in the field will give an overview of the whole subject. The seminar is devoted to diploma students, PhD students and researchers.

Why algebro-geometric methods?

The issue of this WEH Seminar goes back to the very early period where physical problems started to trigger the development of mathematical methods. That means, it started with astronomical problems of describing the motion of celestial bodies. A first essential milestone in that history was the invention of elliptic functions. This then has been developed further yielding the Jacoby inversion problem and the construction of Abelian functions, the cornerstone of the whole building of modern algebraic geometry. Today algebra-geometric methods are widely implemented in the context of modern physical theories like General Relativity, gauge theory, quantum theory and also string theory. Accordingly, there is a wide interest in developing further these mathematical methods in various directions. It is the purpose of this WEH-Seminar to present the state of the art of this area of mathematics and its applications to various issues in theoretical physics.

List of speakers:
C. Athorne (Glasgow)
M. Atiyah (Edinburgh)
E. Belokolos (Kiev)
Yu. Bezvershenko (Kiev)
H. Braden (Edinburgh)
E. Bunkova (Moscow)
R. de Jong (Leiden)
B. Dubrovin (SISSA)
J.C. Eilbeck (Edinburgh)
Y. Fedorov (Barcelona)
J. Gibbons (London)
D. Giulini (Bremen and Hannover)
T. Grava (SISSA)
D. Grieser (Oldenburg)
E. Hackmann (Bremen)
A. Hone (Kent)
Z. Izhakian (Bremen)
V. Kagramanova (Oldenburg)
C. Klein (Dijon)
D. Korotkin (Montreal)
M. Kramer (Bonn)
M. Kruczenski (Purdue)
O. Lechtenfeld (Hannover)
M. Leitner (Dublin)
J. Lenells (Waco)
N. Manton (Cambridge)
R. Meinel (Jena)
A. Morozov (Moscow)
W. Nahm (Dublin)
E. Previato (Boston)
M. Salerno (Salerno)
V. Shramchenko (Sherbrooke)
P. Sutcliffe (Cambridge)
A. Treibich (Montevideo)
O. Uzunkol (Oldenburg)
D. Zagier (Bonn)