464. WE-Heraeus-Seminar: Selforganization in Cell Assemblies and Tissues

Selforganization in Cell Assemblies and Tissues

Su, 29.08.2010 18:30  –   Fr, 03.09.2010 14:00
C. Fütterer, Universität Leipzig; J. Käs, Universität Leipzig
Physikzentrum Bad Honnef
Hauptstr. 5, 53604 Bad Honnef, Germany

Event partner:
Wilhelm and Else Heraeus-Foundation
Contact person:
Claudia Honisch,


The dynamics of tissues and morphogenesis is currently progressing rapidly and there is a strong need for exchange and discussion. The meeting’s intention is to bring biologists, biophysicists and physicians together in an enjoyable and inspiring atmosphere in a charming old manor in Bad Honnef close to the Rhine river to talk about their research, to enjoy inspiring discussions and posters about the deep secrets of the organization of multi-cellular systems. The talks will address a interdisciplinary scientific community. The number of participants is limited to avoid the hectic conference atmosphere. Plenty of time will be given for discussion and exchange.
The conference will take place at the conference center of the German Physical Society in Bad Honnef, Germany. Accommodation for all participants will also be provided in the conference center. For detailed directions to the conference site and further information about location and accommodation, please consult the website of the Physics Center Bad Honnef.

Topics included:

Self organization of cells
Reaction diffusion models
Cellular signaling
Cell migration in tissues
Cell and tissue mechanics
Emergent phenomena
Evolution of tissues

Invited Speakers:

Markus Affolter (University of Basel)
Françoise Brochard-Wyart (Institut Curie)
Damian Brunner (EMBL Heidelberg)
Kristian Franze (University of Cambridge)
Erwin Frey (LMU Munich)
Ramin Golestanian (University of Sheffield)
Thomas W. Holstein (University of Heidelberg)
Paul Janmey (University of Pennsylvania)
Frank Jülicher (MPI Dresden)
Josef A. Käs (University of Leipzig)
Robert B. Laughlin (Stanford University)
Paul Layer (TU Darmstadt)
Hans Meinhardt (MPI Tübingen)
Albrecht Ott (Saarland University)
Jacques Prost (ESPCI Paris)
Andrea Robitzki (BBZ Leipzig)
Eva-Maria Schötz (Princeton University)
Malcolm Steinberg (Princeton University)
Thomas Surrey (EMBL Heidelberg)
Roland Wedlich-Söldner (MPI Martinsried)
Cornelius Weijer (University of Dundee)
Roman Zantl (Ibidi GmbH, Munich)