

Call for entries

"INNOMAG e.V. Dissertation Prize 2024"

and

"INNOMAG e.V. Diploma / Master Prize 2024"

of the Working Group Magnetism

The Working Group Magnetism* of the German Physical Society (DPG) announces a Diploma/Master Prize and a Dissertation Prize, which will be awarded at the Spring Meeting of the Condensed Matter Section of the DPG in Berlin in March 2024.

The aim of the prizes is to recognise outstanding research in the context of a diploma/master thesis or a doctoral dissertation and its excellent communication in oral and written form.

Eligible for nomination are scientifically outstanding diploma/master theses or doctoral dissertations in the field of magnetism in theory, fundamentals and/or applications, which were completed in 2023 at a university from one of the member countries of the European Physical Society.

The supervisor of the dissertation is eligible for nomination, excluding the members of the prize committee.

Selection procedure: For both prizes, a prize committee appointed by the Working Group Magnetism will select up to five finalists from among the entries, who will give a lecture on their work followed by a discussion at an inter-divisional symposium. Right after the symposium, the prize committee will select the winner. Their names will be announced at the conference.

The prize money is 500 EUR for the Diploma/Master Prize and 1,000 EUR for the Dissertation Prize.

The complete nomination includes the following documents.

- A one-page justification of the nomination by the supervisor, clearly stating why the nominated work is outstanding.
- A one-page curriculum vitae of the nominee
- Diploma/Master's Prize: degree certificate; Dissertation Prize: proof of doctoral examination with final grade
- An up to two-page summary of the content of the thesis
- An abstract in DPG conference style for announcement in the conference proceedings
- For the Dissertation Prize only: a list of publications by the nominee

Please send the documents in a single PDF file **by 15 December 2023** to the Chair of the Working Group Magnetism, Prof. Dr. Heiko Wende (heiko.wende@uni-due.de) under the keyword "INNOMAG Prize Master" or "INNOMAG Prize Dissertation".

^{*} The Working Group Magnetism (AGM) is a joint committee of the DPG, Condensed Matter Section (SKM), Division of Magnetism (MA), the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Materialkunde e.V. (DGM), the VDE Technisch-Wissenschaftlicher Verband der Elektrotechnik, Elektronik Informationstechnik e.V., Energie-Technik Gesellschaft (ETG im VDE) and the Verein Deutscher Eisenhüttenleute e.V.. (VDEH).