DPG
Membership
Events
Programmes
Prizes
Publications
Press
Service
 
english page Deutsche Seite printable version
Position: www.dpg-physik.de  >  dpg  >  profil  >  ehrenmitglieder.html

Honorary Members of the DPG

From the Statutes of the DPG

§ 11 Honorary Members

  1. People who have made an outstanding contribution to physics and the DPG may be elected as honorary members.
  2. Honorary members shall have all rights and obligations of a personal membership without having to pay a membership fee.
  3. An honorary member may be excluded from the DPG for an important reason. In particular a violation of the statutes, an unobjective public defamation of the DPG or unobjective damage to the harmony of the organisation may be deemed to constitute a violation of the statutes. The Executive Board may dismiss an honorary member on the basis of a justified application. Before being dismissed the affected honorary member shall be given the opportunity of making a statement. A complaint against a dismissal may be filed to the Chief Executive, and the Council shall decide on this.

2016

Hermann Haken
With the awarding of an honorary membership, the DPG appreciates his decades-long and exemplary commitment as an academic teacher who has influenced generations of physics students through his textbooks and as a researcher who has shown physics new ways and opened new fields like synergetics. Hence, he has uniquely rendered outstanding service to the purpose of the DPG’s statute.

Wolfgang Frühwald (Gustav Magnus-Medaille)
With this special form of the DPG honorary membership, the DPG appreciates his decades-long commitment as a facilitator among natural sciences and humanities along with his persuasive reasoning for the importance of physics as "leading discipline of natural sciences."

2015

Wolfgang Ketterle
In recognition of his outstanding research achievements and commendable personal commitment for physics and his ability and unabated dedication to enthuse young people across countries and continents for physics.

Knut Urban
In recognition of his basic and applied works in the field of atomic resolving electron microscopy and decades of outstanding activity and merits for the German Physical Society. As a member of the DPG Council, the DPG Executive Board and as DPG President, he has successfully rendered the DPG visible: inwardly, through a new statute, the performance spectrum of the DPG and the establishment of the Convent; externally, in particular through enhanced contact with national and international societies and through numerous statements of the DPG to scientific, educational, socially relevant and political topics.

2013

Dieter Röß
in recognition of his pioneering performances in laser physics and – building on a successful career in industry – his trailblazing and energetic voluntary work for the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft and for physics in Germany. As Chief Executive of the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation he earned his laurels by making outstanding contributions towards promoting scientific communication and up-and-coming scientific talent in the field of physics for more than 25 years. During his term in office his wealth of ideas, his energy and his precise use of foundation funds were important in ensuring that the DPG developed into one of the most important physical societies in the world.

Herwig Schopper
in recognition of his many years of untiring work for basic research in physics in Germany and Europe, in particular as director of DESY and CERN, where he created the prerequisite for groundbreaking measurements with the storage rings PETRA and LEP. He was also the president of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft at the time of German Reunification and made important contributions towards strengthening and heightening awareness for physics in Europe at the European Physical Society (EPS).

2012

Alexander Bradshaw
in recognition of his energetic, honorary and pioneering work for physics and for the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft. His active role in conceiving and planning the first Science Year “2000 – Year of Physics” and the foundation of the “New Journal of Physics”, one of the first “open access” journals, is particularly laudable.

Gerhard Ertl
in recognition of his pioneering work in the field of physics and chemistry of surfaces and heterogeneous catalysts. With his work on surface physics and decades of untiring dedication to surface physics in Germany he has become the pioneer in this physical and at the same time chemical discipline in Germany. The new methods he developed together with his staff – for instance photoemission electron microscopy – led to breakthroughs in research on kinetics of molecule reactions on surfaces.

2011

Peter Grünberg
for his distinguished discovery of the interlayer exchange coupling – which received the Nobel Prize for Physics in 2007 (together with Albert Fert/Paris) – and on the basis of this discovery the giant magnetoresistance in thin transitional metal layers, whose technical use revolutionised magnetic data storage technology and opened up a new field of research – spin electronics – as well as altogether for his publishing contributions with which he made a great contribution towards increasing the image of physics in society in Germany.

Theodor Hänsch
for his pioneering work in laser physics and quantum optics with which he in particular shaped the process of laser cooling in the research area of cold atoms and enabled precision measurements of atomic sizes. With the development of frequency comb technology he also considerably improved the precision of nuclear clocks and consequently enabled new research work in metrology.

Horst Rollnik (deceased)
in recognition of his trailblazing and energetic honorary work for the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft and for physics in Germany. Particularly commendable are the successful restructuring of the statutes with the founding of the DPG Council at the beginning of the 1980s and his successful efforts to establish high quality teaching in diploma degree courses at all physics faculties in Germany.

2009

Peter Egelhaaf
for his outstanding honorary work in the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft. This is in particular to honour his outstanding performances as an industrial physicist in the DPG and exercising honorary posts in the DPG Executive Board and DPG Council as well as being a long-term member in the consulting council of industry (BAI, today AIW, DPG Working Group on Industry and Business).

Markus Schwoerer
in recognition of his untiring honorary work for the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft and physics. Particularly commendable is his outstanding commitment in the organisation of the 69th annual meeting "Physics meets Einstein" as well as his numerous activities in DPG-committees and for the Physik Journal (DPG members journal).

2003

Herbert Walther (deceased)
for his pioneering experiments concerning the interaction between single atoms or ions with single photons, on the basis of which he co-founded the research field of Cavity Quantum Electrodynamics, for his indefatigable achievements and successes, generating a prospering research environment for quantum optics, atomic physics and laser physics, as well as for his competent assistance in numerous national and international boards of academic self-administration and for his advice in politics.

2002

Theo Mayer-Kuckuk
in recognition of his trailblazing contributions to nuclear physics and for his outstanding work on behalf of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft, in particular in maintaining and establishing the Magnus-Haus in Berlin as a scientific meeting centre for the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft.

2000

Heinz Bethge (deceased)
for his scientific achievements in the sector of developing electron microscopic methods and their application for the investigation of molecular processes on crystal surfaces and in thin films, for his competence, his foresight and his sound judgement concerning the administration of the "Institut für Festkörperphysik und Elektronenmiskroskopie der Akademie der Wissenschaften der DDR" in Halle, for his effective advancement of the German-German relationship as president of the "Deutsche Akademie der Naturforscher LEOPALDINA" from 1973 until 1990, as well as for his exemplary engagement as unconventional adviser in the "Physikalische Gesellschaft der DDR" and the "Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft" after the reunification.

Klaus von Klitzing
for his outstanding achievements in the investigation of solid state materials in high magnetic fields, which gave rise to his discovery of the quantum Hall effect, as well as
for his indefatigable and successful fundamental research in solid state physics and their presentation to the public.

1999

Werner Buckel (deceased)
acknowledging his contributions to physical research in Germany, in particular to low temperature physics and superconductivity as well as
acknowledging his great encouragement for the "Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft" and for the "Physikzentrum Bad Honnef", his important role in advice of the "Wilhelm und Else Heraeus-Stiftung" and his engagement for the European Physical Society.

1989

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz (deceased)
acknowledging his contributions to physics and his long-standing merits for the development of physical research in Germany.
It appreciates in particular his aura as teacher and his indefatigable activities for the advancement of young physicists, his prosperous functioning for the spread of scientific insights as well as his definite advocacy for international cooperation of scientists and for the perception of the collective responsibility for our world’s future.

Wilhelm Walcher (deceased)
acknowledging his long-standing merits for the development of the physical research in Germany as well as his initiative and active assistance to the reconstruction of the “Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft” after World War II.
It appreciates in particular his prosperous functioning for the spread of scientific insights and for strengthening the status of science in our culture as well as his definite advocacy for the perception of the responsibility for our world’s future.

1983

Wilhelm Heinrich Heraeus (deceased)

Victor F. Weisskopf

1977

Friedrich Hund (deceased)

1963

Hermann Ebert (deceased)

Honorary members of German Physical Societies prior to the refoundation of the "Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft"

(deceased)

1957

Alexander Meissner

1956

Erwin Madelung

Walter Schottky

1955

Walther Bothe

James Franck

Walther Kossel

1954

Max Born

Louis de Broglie

1951

Max von Laue

Carl Ramsauer

Erich Regener

1949

Ronald G. J. Fraser

1948

Otto Hahn

Lise Meitner

1947

Hans Gerdien

Ludwig Prandtl

Hermann von Siemens

Jonathan Zenneck

1938

Gustav Mie

Arnold Sommerfeld

1937

Walther Nernst

Max Wien

1932

Carl von Linde

1928

Max Planck

1924

Carl Friedrich von Siemens

Rudolf Straubel

1923

Carl Duisberg

Albert Vögler

1922

Orest Chwolson

1919

Eugen Goldstein

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen

Karl Scheel

1917

Emil Warburg

1904

G. Quincke Ehrenvorsitzender

1888

Emil du Bois-Reymond Ehrenvorsitzender
 
© Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft | last modification 31.03.2017, 11:18 | Impressum | Datenschutz | Contact | Modify

DPG
Mitgliedschaft
Veranstaltungen
Programme
Preise
Veröffentlichungen
Presse
Service
 
english page Deutsche Seite Druckversion
Position: www.dpg-physik.de  >  dpg  >  profil  >  ehrenmitglieder.html

Ehrenmitglieder der DPG

Aus der Satzung der DPG

§ 11 Ehrenmitglieder

  1. Zu Ehrenmitgliedern können Personen gewählt werden, die sich um die Physik oder die DPG in hervorragender Weise verdient gemacht haben.
  2. Ehrenmitglieder haben alle Rechte und Pflichten eines persönlichen Mitgliedes ohne Verpflichtung zur Beitragszahlung.
  3. Der Ausschluss eines Ehrenmitglieds aus der DPG ist aus wichtigem Grund zulässig. Wichtige Gründe sind insbesondere ein Verstoß gegen die Satzung, eine unsachliche Herabsetzung der DPG in der Öffentlichkeit oder eine unsachliche Beeinträchtigung des Organisationsfriedens. Den Ausschluss eines Ehrenmitgliedes kann der Vorstand auf begründeten Antrag beschließen. Vor dem Ausschluss ist dem betroffenen Ehrenmitglied Gelegenheit zur Äußerung zu geben.Gegen einen Ausschluss kann Beschwerde beim Hauptgeschäftsführer oder bei der Hauptgeschäftsführerin eingelegt werden, über die der Vorstandsrat entscheidet.

2016

Hermann Haken
Die DPG würdigt mit der Verleihung der Ehrenmitgliedschaft sein jahrzehntelanges, Beispiel gebendes Engagement als akademischer Lehrer, der durch seine Lehrbücher Generationen von Physikstudierenden geprägt hat, und als Forscher, der der Physik neue Wege gewiesen und neue Gebiete wie das der Synergetik erschlossen hat. Er hat dadurch in einzigartiger Weise und ganz im Sinne der Satzung der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft Herausragendes für das Fach Physik geleistet.

2015

Wolfgang Ketterle
in Anerkennung seiner herausragenden Forschungsleistungen sowie seines vorbildlichen persönlichen Einsatzes für die Physik, seiner Fähigkeit und seines ungebrochenen Engagements, junge Menschen über Länder und Kontinente hinweg für die Physik zu begeistern.

Knut Urban
in Anerkennung seiner grundlegenden und anwendungsorientierten Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der atomar auflösenden Elektronenmikroskopie sowie seiner jahrzehntelangen herausragenden Tätigkeit und seiner Verdienste für die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft. Als Mitglied des Vorstandsrats, des Vorstands und als Präsident hat er die DPG erfolgreich und sichtbar gemacht: nach Innen durch eine neue Satzung, das Leistungsspektrum der DPG und Einrichtung des Konvents, nach Außen besonders durch den verstärkten Kontakt zu nationalen und internationalen Fachgesellschaften und durch zahlreiche Stellungnahmen der DPG zu wissenschaftlichen, erziehungs- und gesellschaftsrelevanten sowie politischen Themen.

2013

Dieter Röß
in Anerkennung seiner Pionierleistungen in der Laserphysik und, aufbauend auf einer erfolgreichen Industriekarriere, seines wegweisenden und tatkräftigen ehrenamtlichen Einsatzes für die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft und für die Physik in Deutschland. Als Vorstandvorsitzender der Wilhelm und Else Heraeus-Stiftung hat er sich über mehr als 25 Jahre überragende Verdienste in der Förderung der wissenschaftlichen Kommunikation und des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses im Bereich der Physik erworben. Sein Ideenreichtum, seine Energie und seine Genauigkeit im Einsatz der Stiftungsmittel haben einen gewichtigen Anteil daran, dass die DPG sich in seiner Amtszeit zur größten Physikalischen Gesellschaft der Welt entwickelte.

Herwig Schopper
in Anerkennung seines langjährigen unermüdlichen Einsatzes für die physikalische Grundlagenforschung in Deutschland und Europa, insbesondere als Direktor von DESY und CERN, wo er mit den Speicherringen PETRA und LEP die Voraussetzung für bahnbrechende Messungen schuf. Darüber hinaus hat er als Präsident der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft in der Zeit der Wiedervereinigung und der European Physical Society wichtige Beiträge zur Stärkung und Sichtbarkeit der Physik in Europa geleistet.

2012

Alexander Bradshaw
in Anerkennung seines tatkräftigen ehrenamtlichen und zukunftsweisenden Einsatzes für die Physik und für die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft. Besonders hervorzuheben ist seine aktive Rolle bei der Konzeption und Planung des ersten Wissenschaftsjahres „2000 – Jahr der Physik“ sowie bei der Gründung des „New Journal of Physics“, einer der ersten „open access“-Zeitschriften.

Gerhard Ertl
in Anerkennung seiner bahnbrechenden Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Physik und der Chemie der Oberflächen und der heterogenen Katalyse. Mit seinen Arbeiten zur Oberflächenphysik und seinem jahrzehntelangen unermüdlichen Einsatz für die Oberflächenphysik in Deutschland ist er zum Pionier dieser physikalischen und gleichzeitig chemischen Disziplin in Deutschland geworden. Die von ihm mit seinen Mitarbeitern entwickelten neuen Methoden, beispielsweise der Photoelektronenmikroskopie, führten zu Durchbrüchen in der Erforschung der Kinetik von Molekülreaktionen an Oberflächen.

2011

Peter Grünberg
für seine im Jahr 2007 mit dem Nobelpreis in Physik (zusammen mit Albert Fert/Paris) ausgezeichnete Entdeckung der Zwischenschicht-Austauschkopplung und dem darauf  basierenden Riesenmagnetowiderstand in dünnen Übergangsmetallschichten, deren technische Anwendung die magnetische Datenspeichertechnologie revolutionierte und ein neues Forschungsgebiet - die Spinelektronik - öffnete, sowie insgesamt für seine publizistischen Beiträge, mit denen er erheblich zur Steigerung des gesellschaftlichen Ansehens der Physik in Deutschland beigetragen hat.

Theodor Hänsch
für seine Pionierarbeiten zur Laserphysik und Quantenoptik, mit denen er insbesondere durch das Verfahren der Laserkühlung das Forschungsgebiet der kalten Atome prägte und Präzisionsmessungen atomarer Größen ermöglichte. Mit der Entwicklung der Frequenzkammtechnik hat er außerdem die Präzision von Atomuhren wesentlich verbessert und damit neue Forschungsarbeiten in der Metrologie ermöglicht.

Horst Rollnik (verstorben am 28. September 2011)
in Anerkennung seines wegweisenden und tatkräftigen ehrenamtlichen Einsatzes für die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft und für die Physik in Deutschland. Hervorzuheben sind dabei die erfolgreiche Neustrukturierung der Satzung mit der Gründung des DPG-Vorstandsrates Anfang der 1980er Jahre sowie sein erfolgreicher Einsatz für eine hohe Qualität der Lehre in den Diplomstudiengängen aller Physik-Fakultäten in Deutschland.

2009

Peter Egelhaaf
für sein außerordentliches ehrenamtliches Wirken in der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft. Hiermit sollen insbesondere seine herausragenden Leistungen als Industriephysiker in der DPG und die Wahrnehmung von Ehrenämtern im DPG-Vorstand und DPG-Vorstandsrat sowie als langjähriges Mitglied im Beratenden Ausschuss der Industrie (BAI, heute AIW) gewürdigt werden.

Markus Schwoerer
in Anerkennung seines unermüdlichen ehrenamtlichen Einsatzes für die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft und die Physik. Hervorzuheben sind dabei sein außerordentliches Engagement bei der Organisation der 69. Jahrestagung "Physik seit Einstein" sowie seine zahlreichen Aktivitäten in DPG-Gremien und für das Physik-Journal.

2003

Herbert Walther (verstorben am 22. Juli 2006)
für seine bahnbrechenden Experimente zur Wechselwirkung einzelner Atome oder Ionen mit einzelnen Photonen, mit denen er das Forschungsgebiet der Hohlraumquantenelektrodynamik mitbegründet hat, für seine unermüdlichen Leistungen und Erfolge, die Quantenoptik, Atomphysik und Laserphysik in Deutschland zu einer blühenden Forschungslandschaft zu entwickeln, sowie für seine kompetente Mitwirkung in zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Gremien der akademischen Selbstverwaltung und der Beratung der Politik.

2002

Theo Mayer-Kuckuk (verstorben am 21. September 2014)
in Anerkennung seiner wegweisenden Beiträge zur Kernphysik sowie für seine herausragenden Verdienste um die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft, insbesondere bei dem Erhalt und der Etablierung des Magnus-Hauses in Berlin für die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft als wissenschaftliches Begegnungszentrum.

2000

Heinz Bethge (verstorben am 9. Mai 2001)
für seine wissenschaftlichen Leistungen auf dem Gebiet der Entwicklung elektronenmikroskopischer Methoden und deren Anwendung zur Erforschung molekularer Prozesse auf Kristalloberflächen und in dünnen Schichten, für seine Sachkompetenz, seine Weitsicht und sein Augenmaß bei der Leitung des Instituts für Festkörperphysik und Elektronenmikroskopie der Akademie der Wissenschaften der DDR in Halle, für seine wirksame Förderung der deutsch-deutschen Beziehungen als Präsident der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher LEOPOLDINA von 1973 bis 1990 sowie für sein vorbildliches Engagement als unkonventioneller Ratgeber in der Physikalischen Gesellschaft der DDR und nach der Vereinigung in der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft.

Klaus von Klitzing
für seine außerordentlichen Erfolge in der Erforschung von Festkörpern in hohen Magnetfeldern, die zu seiner Entdeckung des quantisierten Hall-Effekts geführt haben, sowie für seine unermüdliche und erfolgreiche Grundlagenforschung in der Festkörperphysik und deren Darstellung in der Öffentlichkeit.

1999

Werner Buckel (verstorben am 3. Februar 2003)
in Anerkennung seiner Beiträge zur physikalischen Forschung in Deutschland, insbesondere zur Tieftemperaturphysik und Supraleitung sowie
in Würdigung seines großen Einsatzes für die Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft und für das Physikzentrum Bad Honnef, seiner wichtigen Rolle bei der Beratung der Wilhelm und Else Heraeus-Stiftung und seines Engagements für die European Physical Society.

1989

Heinz Maier-Leibnitz (verstorben am 16. Dezember 2000)
in Anerkennung seiner Beiträge zur Physik und seiner langjährigen Verdienste um die Entwicklung der Physikalischen Forschung in Deutschland.
Sie würdigt insbesondere auch seine Ausstrahlung als Lehrer und seine unermüdlichen Aktivitäten zur Förderung nachwachsender Physiker, sein erfolgreiches Wirken zur Verbreitung naturwissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse sowie sein entschiedenes Eintreten für die internationale Zusammenarbeit der Wissenschaftler und für die Wahrnehmung der gemeinsamen Verantwortung für die Zukunft unserer Welt.

Wilhelm Walcher (verstorben am 9. November 2005)
in Anerkennung seiner langjährigen Verdienste um die Entwicklung der Physikalischen Forschung in Deutschland sowie seiner Initiative und tätigen Mithilfe beim Wiederaufbau der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg.
Sie würdigt insbesondere auch sein erfolgreiches Wirken zur Verbreitung naturwissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse und zur Stärkung der Stellung der Naturwissenschaften in unserer Kultur sowie sein entschiedenes Eintreten für, die Wahrnehmung der Verantwortung für die Zukunft unserer Welt.

1983

Wilhelm Heinrich Heraeus (verstorben am 7. Januar 1985)

Victor F. Weisskopf (verstorben am 21. April 2002)

1977

Friedrich Hund (verstorben am 31. März 1997)

1963

Hermann Ebert (verstorben)

Ehrenmitglieder von deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaften vor der Wiedergründung der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft

(verstorben)

1957

Alexander Meissner

1956

Erwin Madelung

Walter Schottky

1955

Walther Bothe

James Franck

Walther Kossei

1954

Max Born

Louis de Broglie

1951

Max von Laue

Carl Ramsauer

Erich Regener

1949

Ronald G. J. Fraser

1948

Otto Hahn

Lise Meitner

1947

Hans Gerdien

Ludwig Prandtl

Hermann von Siemens

Jonathan Zenneck

1938

Gustav Mie

Arnold Sommerfeld

1937

Walther Nernst

Max Wien

1932

Carl von Linde

1928

Max Planck

1924

Carl Friedrich von Siemens

Rudolf Straubel

1923

Carl Duisberg

Albert Vögler

1922

Orest Chwolson

1919

Eugen Goldstein

Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen

Karl Scheel

1917

Emil Warburg

1904

Georg Quincke Ehrenvorsitzender

1888

Emil du Bois-Reymond Ehrenvorsitzender
 
© Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft | letzte Änderung 21.03.2016, 10:49 | Impressum | Kontakt | Bearbeiten