Position: www.dpg-physik.de  >  dpg  >  gliederung  >  fv  >  soe  >  YSA  >  2012  >  2012award

Young Scientist Award 2012

Arne Traulsen received the Young Scientist Award 2012.

Young Scientist Award 2012 Urkunde Traulsen 2012
Urkunde Traulsen 2012

On behalf of the Physics of Socio-Economic Systems Division (SOE) of the German Physical Society, the

Young-Scientist Award for Socio- and Econophysics 2012

is awarded to

Dr. Arne Traulsen
(Max-Planck Institute for Evolutionary Biology)

for his outstanding scientific contributions to a better understanding of socio-economic systems.

Berlin, March 28th, 2012
Prof. Dr. Dirk Helbing

From the award certificate:

Dr. Traulsen’s research has employed physics methodology and models to greatly advance our understanding of socio-economic systems.

Arne Traulsen has become a key figure in the field of evolutionary game theory, where he published on the emergence of cooperative behavior among competing, selfish individuals. He has made significant contributions to the theory of stochastic game dynamics in finite populations. In conducting his research and addressing analytical questions, Dr. Traulsen employed a variety of techniques, ranging from sophisticated mathematical calculations to numerical solutions and agent-based simulations. His work also covers the co-evolution of strategy and structure in complex networks.

His experimental work on the strategic choices of humans in social dilemmas has stimulated new research directions in evolutionary game theory. Furthermore, Dr. Traulsen has been working on the evolution of punishment institutions.

Last but not least, his work has also reached impact beyond sociophysics. For example, Dr. Traulsen’s collaborations with biologists have led to mathematical models of the evolution of cancer and other interesting results.

In conclusion, with his research, Dr. Traulsen has built bridges between physics, socio-economics and the life sciences, which is acknowledged by this prize.


© Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft | letzte Änderung 29.04.2013, 11:05 | Impressum | Datenschutz | Kontakt | Bearbeiten